Kamuli District NRM Polls on Today

Monday, March 20, 2017

Kamuli Municipality will this Monday conduct their Primary elections to decide the NRM party's flag bearer in their parliamentary by-elections tentatively scheduled for mid next month.


A total of seven candidates are vying for the seat that fell vacant after Hon Rehema Watongola lost the court case related to academic qualification. She was however later cleared to stand again.


This morning all the necessary voting materials were dispatched off from Kamuli CPS to the respective polling stations. The EC Administrative Secretary Lawrence Mayambala says there are 80 polling stations in total.


The elections to be held between 8am and 4pm will entirely be based on the available registers.


The EC chairperson Dr Tanga Odoi and Commissioner Hon Jane Alisemera have since last week been camped in Kamuli to ensure a free and fair exercise.


The candidates are:

Namusisi Sanubi, Wanyana Esther, Mwesije Geoffrey, Watongola Rehema, Mastula Namatovu, Wakugyo Samuel and Caesar Lukalu.


Communications Officer